We have been living in the nuclear age now for over half a century. Since the first atomic bombs were developed, nuclear technology has provided governments with the ability to totally destroy the planet. Yet the technology has been put to positive use as an energy source and in certain areas of medicine. To what extent is nuclear technology a danger to life on Earth? What are the benefits and risks associated with its use?

In modern times, since the creation of the atomic bombs, we are already living where nuclear technology is considered as an energy use. Furthermore, it is also used as a form of treatment in certain diseases. However, it can be exploited and gives an opportunity for the governments to destroy the world. The end product of nuclear technology is radiation itself and radiations cannot be easily disposed of. Moreover, if radiation is not carefully handled it can leak to the surrounding community and can impose great harm to the society. For instance the Chernobyl incident in Ukraine of mishandling that lead to significant deaths and sickness that up to now the community is still suffering. Nuclear technology is seen as one of the most effective and cheapest sources of energy. Also, it provides continuous energy supply to the community without having to rely on the weather conditions such as solar, wind, and water. Likewise, nuclear technology can be used as an effective way to treat diseases, an example is the radiation therapy in which a patient is exposed to a certain radiation to treat cancer. In this way, nuclear technology has a beneficial benefit to the society. On the other hand, nuclear technology can be a threat to the national security of the world. Governments can use nuclear to make nuclear weapons to gain power such as the historic atomic bombing of America to the provinces of Japan. Whereas terrorists might target nuclear power plants with an intention to create chaos and declare war to the world. To conclude, nuclear technology can be a solution to other problems of the society on the contrary, the abuse of such technology can do more harm to the environment and the world.