Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Part of citizens reckon that the best technique to minimize misdemeanour is to give prolonged prison sentences. Whereas, the other half hold views with prominent mechanisms to reduce crime. In my opinion, I believe in alternative methods of diminishing crime. One side of the argument is that few people who hold the opinion to encourage long drawn out in prison for criminals. The most compelling reason for believing is that protracted prison sentences invoke fear amongst other criminals. When the criminal understands the litigation of prison sentences they will try to circumvent such crime in terms of dread. Due to the apprehension of the delinquent, they think twice to commit any errant because of which the whole life span of innocent citizens lives in peace. Additionally, many believe that longer penalization aids delinquency to ameliorate discipline. For instance, a boy with the age 15 stole a gold chain and would get punished for 15 years. He will be released at the age of 30. Because he spent his juvenile time in jail he will be petrified to committe any such crime again. As a result, long term prison helps citizens to show justice against the crime. Despite the above argument I am of the view that instilling a sense of substitute way to take the edge off crime by proffering proper Education facilities. Because of the well education, citizens will work hard so that they keep their moral and integrity high by keeping themself busy to gain a proper source of income. As a result, Literacy will weigh up drastically and eventually the criminal rate goes down. Moreover, these people can give services to the whole community during their imprisonment. Because of the criminal services with regards to labour work that might lead to farmers or any other services, which aids in saving government funds as well as it will be beneficial to the societies as well. Due to this reason, it makes them believe in hard work rather than perpetuate any misdeed. In conclusion, by giving proper employment education to each one helps to diminish crime rate as well as criminal help to support workers by bestowing their services to labour work which helps the societies. Given this situation it is recommended that education should be mandatory from childhood so that they feel guilty if they do anything wrong.