We have been living in the nuclear age now for over half a century. Since the first atomic bombs were developed, nuclear technology has provided governments with the ability to totally destroy the planet. Yet the technology has been put to positive use as an energy source and in certain areas of medicine. To what extent is nuclear technology a danger to life on Earth? What are the benefits and risks associated with its use?

In modern times, since the creation of the atomic bombs, we are already living where nuclear technology is considered as an energy use. Furthermore, it is also used as a form of treatment in certain diseases. However, it also gives an opportunity for the governments to destroy the world. The end product of nuclear technology is radiation itself and radiations cannot be easily disposed of. Moreover, if radiation is not carefully handled it can leak to the surrounding community and can impose great harm to the environment. A continuous and increased exposure to radiation can lead to significant deaths and sickness. Nuclear technology is considered one of the most effective and cheapest sources of energy. Also, it provides continuous energy supply to the community without having to rely on the weather conditions such as solar, wind, and water. Furthermore, nuclear technology is also used as an effective way to treat diseases, an example is the radiation therapy performed for individuals with end stages of cancer. In this way, nuclear technology has a positive benefit to the society. On the other hand, nuclear technology can be a threat to the national security of the world. Governments can use nuclear yo make nuclear weapons to gain power. Whereas terrorists might target nuclear power plants with an intention to create chaos and declare war to the world. To conclude, nuclear technology can be a solution to other problems of the society but at the same time the abuse of such technology can also do more harm to the environment and the world.