Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

Sharing information with or without charge is now controversial. Some people advocate the free spreading of valuable knowledge because of its benefits to individuals and society, but I hold the opinion that some vital and priceless information should not be shared without any fee. On the one hand, people support the sharing of science, business and academic world – related information because of some reasons. Firstly, as for individuals, free access to this information will facilitate their work and study. For instance, if a successful businessman shares experience about setting up and running business effectively, many others can learn from it and start their own business on the right way. Secondly, the society has a knowledgeable workforce since knowledge is exchanged and people can access ideas that are worth sharing. For example, the programs introducing more effective and attractive teaching methods can be accessed by different teachers who then apply them in their classes. On the other hand, I agree with the view that the access to some crucial and valuable information should be charged. The initial reason is that some pieces of information are priceless because they are discovered after endless efforts and hard work of a person or even a team. Charging a fee can not only show the gratitude to their contribution but also enhance the responsibility of users. For instance, to create many online vocabulary sets which help learners remember and apply new words, a teacher works dedicatedly for hours. Therefore, it will be unfair if this work is shared freely. Furthermore, some information is too important to be widely spread. For instance, if the instruction about producing nuclear weapons is leaked, many terrorists or criminals can use it illegally. In conclusion, although some people are in favour of sharing academic knowledge freely, I strongly believe that some information should not be shared because of its importance and value.