we are witnessing inexorable development of state-of-the-art technology

These days, we are witnessing inexorable development of state-of-the-art technology. While a number of people believe that the ubiquity of technology is eradicating the income gap between the wealthy and the poverty-stricken, I strongly advocate that technological advancements are extending the gap between two social classes. On the one hand, technology – increases the income gap. First of all, while the wealthy can get access to the state-of-the-art technology for many purposes such as work, study, or investment, the impoverished especially in third-world countries can’t afford the contemporary devices so they have to choose the options for more economical or second purchases which are reduced functions and have fewer conveniences. Secondly, the majority of the poor are jobless, among low-skilled workforce since the technology has superseded humans in assembly lines, agriculture. The automation techniques are widely applied in many fields to increase productivity as well as reduce errors, resulting in workers losing their livelihood. On the other hand, it is my concrete belief that technology- mitigates the income gap. First, the impoverished can effortlessly purchase smartphones, laptops at reasonable prices because of the availability of high-tech facilities. Therefore, they can comfortably have internet access and a wide range of functions. For instance, nowadays, mountainous areas or isolated islands have great internet access so people in these areas can keep abreast with the latest news at their fingertips. In addition, both the wealthy and the poor have a higher quality of education. The rationale is that thanks to technology, everyone on earth can access free courses, thus, they can enrich their horizon of knowledge without paying any tuition fees. To illustrate, the University of the people provides equal opportunities for everyone to get the qualifications. It means that even the underprivileged have a chance to achieve bachelor's degrees like people who are in first-world countries with just laptop access to the internet. In conclusion, certain innovations in technology lessen the gap between the rich and the poor while certain developments make society more polarized. This essay has reviewed both views and elaborated on my opinion.