Walking is the most frequent type of movement in humankind.

Walking is the most frequent type of movement in humankind. Movement produces kinetic energy, which can be converted into power. Vibration-based energy harvesting nowadays is undertaken to reduce the wasting energy and help protect the environment from impacts that would be resulted in increasing green-house gases emission, global warming, depleting natural resources, etc. Due to these phenomena, this study aims to estimate the amount of electricity that would be produced in conditions of implementing Piezoelectric materials. The current study integrates qualitative and quantitative research methods. Firstly, it tries to observe the users of the Babolrood at Babolsar (Mazandaran province, Iran) in an unobtrusive and non-participant manner to estimate the movement behaviors and activities taken place by people during a year and subsequently, it focuses on calculating the amount of electricity that can be harvested in this area. The results show that the energy obtained is effective for saving electricity consumption in street lighting so that it can illuminate 125 LEDs and 36 high-pressure sodium lamps.