Volunteer work organized by middle schools brings more benefits than problems.

Nowadays, there are a growing number of students of middle schools who are required to do volunteer work. In my opinion, it is beneficial for students to be volunteers although they may have less abundant time budget. Students who devote their time to voluntary careers can improve their communication skills. When students attend voluntary activities, they have to communicate with various kinds of people, which provide numerous opportunities for them to sharpen their communication skills so that they can cope with their voluntary work effectively. For example, some students may be volunteers who need to take care of senior citizens. Those students are likely to learn how to communicate with others with patience and respect because many senior people can not speak as fluently as young people do. In contrast, it will be not easy for students who do not attend volunteer work to acquire such skills because of limited chances of having experiences outside schools. Another advantage is that volunteer jobs enable students to have a sense of social responsibility. Students can contribute to the development of the whole society by working as volunteers, and they will have a sense of achievement. This means that they are more likely to pay attention to the daily lives of average people, especially those from deprived background. As a result, they may try their best to help those people, which makes them socially responsible. On the other hand, doing too much volunteer work may affect the academic performance of some students. Many students are required to finish lots of homework and they have extremely limited time budgets. If they spend too much time on volunteer work, they may not have sufficient time to deal with their homework and they tend to have poor grades in their exams. The poor academic performance may upset them so that they are no longer interested in doing volunteer work. Therefore, they may not work as volunteers and acquire nothing from the experiences of being volunteers. In conclusion, doing volunteer work brings more advantages than disadvantages.