Some people believe that what children watch on television influences their behaviour. Others say that amount of time spent watching television influences their behaviour.

Children are always engaged in television for leisure in recent times. Some may agree that the length of time spent watching television influences their conduct. However, I believe that it is the content that significantly impacts their behaviour. Proponents may argue that the length of watching television causes children to be predominantly glued to their programmes which markedly affects their eyesight in the long run. Moreover, there has been studies shown how snacking junk food when watching television have increased over time which indirectly poses serious health risks such as obesity and type 2 diabetes. Apart from the health risks, long television time affects their developmental growth as their creativity skills such as reading, drawing and playing outside becomes restricted. Having said that, the content in a television programme plays a pivotal role when commercials advertise processed food or toys which encourages kids to ask for them impulsively. In addition, cartoons portray aggressive characters involved in murders, violent fights or shoplifting which may predominantly affect a kid’s personality as they may question their way of morality. For example, a TV show called 13 Reasons Why, glorified suicide as a story. Though it was widely discussed, many have debated about how children may view it wrongly. Hence, this proves that the content shown in television is more detrimental to the children than the length. In brief, it is evident that the content viewed on television has to be carefully monitored by parents so that the children are able to enjoy it without being affected by them.