Violence in playgrounds is increasing. However, it is important that parents should teach their children not to hit back at bullies.

It is true that violence in school playgrounds has become more common. There are two different parental approaches to deal with this issue: one is to teach children not to fight back but some insist it will only encourage further bullying. According to the proponents of the second view, children who do not stand up for themselves will continue to be easy targets for bullies. Trying not to promote violence, they maintain that the most effective way to deter bullying is to fight against it. Moreover, learning to defend themselves can help children overcome their phobias. For example, knowing one can fight might reduce the sense of inferiority, thus helping them gain higher self-esteem, a valuable train for an adult. In other words, this tough experience gained in childhood can teach them to be resourceful than relying on outside help. On the other hand, teaching children to hit back at bullies can really backfire. For one thing, it can negatively impact their behavior at home in the sense that they might feel comfortable using physical abuse towards their siblings as well. Secondly, responding to violence in the same way instead of coming to compromise can lead to the development of the same aggressive behavior which will pass on to adulthood. As we live in a civilized society, the world will be a better place if more people learn to negotiate than fight. Although learning to fight against school bullies can bring a number of psychological benefits, I feel that teaching children to be pacifists can play an important role in reshaping the whole society.