Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum.

In the history of the human race, currency may be one of the most important constructs that helped build the modern human world. As a medium of exchanging goods, money was probably the key to having a world-wide common language, on which economies were based to fuel scientific inventions, cultural diversity and the general development of nations today. Some have the opinion that the modern world, however, does not seem to value personal finance, as much as it is an essential part of life, as an official part of school curriculums in many parts of the globe. This essay agrees with this notion for two main reasons, which will be detailed further below, and supports the idea of teaching money management as part of the official curriculum where possible. Positively, personal finance readies students for their future role in the economy. In particular, students will eventually be a part of the labor force and become citizens who both make and spend money. The balance of these two acts can be detrimental to the life quality of these students. Understanding the value and management of money can help them develop healthy spending habits, well-informed investment decisions and appropriate savings. As a result, monetary risks such as credit debts may not be as much of a blight to those who were financially educated, offering a chance for more fulfilling lives when financial difficulties are no longer a concern. According to the US’ National Financial Educators Council, students in the three states of Idaho, Georgia and Texas received mandatory financial education since the year 2000. Credit scores were given to these states and nearby ones that did not have mandatory financial lessons for comparison. The results revealed that third-year students of the financial education programs in said three states all received higher credit scores than those from others. This showed that financial education played a noticeable part in helping students lead an improved financial life. In turn, not being educated financially can negatively impact the lives of the young generation. Little to no financial knowledge may result in negative habits in young people such as gambling. A 2003 study of young South Australians showed a strong connection between financial illiteracy, either as a result of schooling or family education, and serious gambling problems. Habits such as this can result in unwanted financial hardships, disabling future access to basic necessities, namely work pension, personal savings, adequate healthcare, higher education and retirement funds. In turn, a lack of these types of funds can lead to a number of other social issues including higher divorce rates, family rupture and domestic abuse, as proposed by John Hope Bryant, CEO of Operation HOPE - a non-profit organization that provides financial education and empowerment to youths and adults. Therefore, it is necessary that financial lessons are taught from an early stage of education if possible. In countries where education is competently developed, basic concepts of economy and personal finance should be approached in a simple and encouraging manner to establish a healthy outlook on money for young students. In less privileged nations, however, where basic education is not yet widespread and a substantial and diverse curriculum is not yet implemented, it is understandable that financial education is not yet a top priority. Nevertheless, it should still be considered as a helpful addition to help the students of these countries understand the economy better and become greater contributors of wealth in the future. In conclusion, financial education can positively affect the spending habits of young students when they eventually grow up. A more balanced earning/spending ratio offers vastly more positive prospects on life. Vice versa, those without proper knowledge of monetary management can develop negative money habits and consequently encounter more social difficulties themselves. It is highly advised that both developing and developed countries consider implementing financial lessons as an official part of their education program for both the personal and national economic advantages they might create.