University students nowadays have too much freedom and do not study enough.

In this day and age, attending higher education has been becoming popular. While a sizable proportion of people hold a firm belief that undergraduates these days do have too much freedom instead of spending enough time on their studies, others have an opposite opinion. However, I am convinced with the former point of view for the following justifications. The primary reason is that scholars try to obtain career experience. This could be further explained by the fact that universities create more opportunities for pupils to participate in part-time jobs, unpaid internships, and club activities. Owing to competitiveness between applicants, they need to gain social skills to fill their resumes. In other words, in the past, academic performance was the only requirement to secure a decent job. To illustrate this, a recent survey in China in 2017 polling a thousand employers stated that their option for suitable candidates depends on various factors including not only excellent marks but also life experience. It might be noted that studying in post-secondary education is not beneficial to learners. It is understandable that reading impractical theory as well as completing all assignments is time-consuming. This is the main factor why juniors cannot manage time enough on studying, not to mention their view about lectures that are not related to their job prospects. Only if professors are capable of changing their lectures, do students concentrate on studying fields. According to some statistics, most pupils in American universities spend only 5 hours on academic activities, compared to that half a century ago, which was at least 20 hours. By stark contrast, some may argue that teenagers are not allowed to be as free as they were in past. As a matter of fact, the development of society poses a great threat to youngsters’ safety. It does mean that a great number of children are not permitted o socialize with other people despite being university students. To exemplify, there was a study researched on numerous Singaporean young adults. It cited that despite being undergraduates, they are not free to make decisions on their relationship. In conclusion, although views differ about students’ freedom and studies, I believe that they invest their freedom in focusing on practical professional experience rather than professors’ lectures.