Are hate crimes unnecessary

Only in 2019, over 8, 559 cases of crimes influenced by prejudice against race, ethnicity, ancestry, religion, sexual orientation, disability, gender, and gender identity have been reported by victims. Some people believe that we need a federal law to protect these victims, while others argue that it isn't necessary. This topic is important because it affects everyone, thousands of people get hate crimed every year because of prejudice and it's constantly changing our society. Hate crime laws are unnecessary because people continue to commit hate crimes even if they're aware of the punishment, and hate crime laws violate the first amendment. The first reason hate crime laws are not necessary is that people continue to act on their prejudice, no matter the punishment. According to, "Hate Crime Laws are Unnecessary, " Benjamin Smith, a white supremacist, killed two minorities and wounded nine in a hate-filled shooting spree. Indiana and Illinois both have hate crime laws, yet he still did it. This points out the fact that even with hate crime laws in place, people continue to target minorities, no matter what the punishment is. The article also states that a man named Buford Furrow shot children in a Jewish community center and killed a Filipino in Los Angeles. This proves that even with the hate crime laws, people are still going on hate-filled sprees without caring about the consequence. Hate crime laws aren't needed because racially biased people continue to commit brutal crimes without caring about the penalty. Another reason why hate crime laws are unnecessary is that it infringes on our freedom of speech. From the same article, she also states that "God has the right to judge on the basis of our motives; it is an invasion of our personal freedom of will for government to do so. " This points out that "Giving the government such power over our thoughts and ideas threatens our rights to live and think as we please. " Rolleff also states that, "during a trial in Ohio, the prosecutor attempted to prove a campground dispute was the result of racial animosity by maintaining that because the defendant wasn't a close friend of his black neighbor, he was prejudiced against blacks. " This quote from the same article supports that with these laws, our thoughts and beliefs are in question every trial. Hate crime laws are unfair because constitutionally protected speech is being misjudged as a hate crime. Hate crime laws are unjust is because it invades our freedom of speech, and doesn't stop anybody from acting upon their bias. It terrorizes our right to live freely and doesn't protect us from harmful prejudice. Harsher punishment won't protect us from these brutal crimes, America as a whole needs to speak up and criticize these horrible acts. Hate crime laws won't save innocent people from this hurtful discrimination.