University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

A growing number of students opt to study overseas. Although it is tremendously expensive when compared to learning in their own countries, it would give a far wider choice of career prospects besides getting exposed to different languages and cultures. In my opinion, studying abroad is far more advantageous in long run despite of some challenges they will inevitably face. The greatest benefit of learning abroad is that students will have a wider choice of career prospects for they are passionate about that would have been otherwise impossible if they had have only studied in their own countries. Not all countries provide advanced studies in all areas. Also, some courses are famous in some universities. This will give a chance to learn from world famous institutions according to their competence level thereby ensuring a better future for their next endeavors. In addition to that, it gives plenty of opportunities to learn different languages and cultures. As an example, one of my friend in India wanted to do PhD in a particular field in Information Technology which was only available in USA. Students can broaden their horizons, therefore making it the most beneficial. However, it is extremely costly when compared to studying in their own country. It brings more financial burden to students. To take control of this, they will have to look for part-time jobs along with studies for meeting daily expenses. It will be challenging to do this in a new environment with different languages and cultures. For instance, my cousin studied MS in Paris had a tough time initially balancing good grades and part time employment. It is often very difficult to communicate with local people in their language and usually people will long to be in the familiarity of their own culture. Studying international is very common these days. Even though financial commitment would make it a tough choice to opt for studying abroad for some students, they can easily deal with this after pursuing education as they get higher paying jobs. Also, cultural and language exposure will help them in their personal growth. In conclusion, studying abroad is more advantageous than disadvantageous.