University should accept both male and female

Nowadays, a growing number of people argue that universities should take gender into consideration during the admission process. They claim that seats in each field of study should be equally divided between males and females. I agree with this pont of view but we should bear in mind that students qualifications should be the most contributing factr in admission. In this essay I will support my opinion with examples. The first reason behind the tendency towards making gender part of the conditions in accepting univerity students is to gurantee the diversity in workplace. Those students are potential workers who might become engineers, doctors, teachers, . . etc. in the future. Recent research and statistical studies have proven that diversity in the workplace is one of the key factors of success. For example, engineering profession in the middleast is dominated by males because the number of males who study engineering is as twice as the females. This makes it hard for the companies to have diversified environment where they can take the advantage of a spectrum of different skills and abilities. On the other hand, some people argue that there should not be a gender-based quota in universities. Their view is that certain profession are preferred by one gender more than the other. They also claim that by having such conditions, qualification will play a second role. In my opinion, subject preference varies from person to person. Nowadays, we see many examples of successful women in fields that are commonly viewed as males proffissions. In addition, universities can control the admission process to make sure that students qualifications are the first condition to meet before applying the gender quota. In conclusion, giving equal chances to both vendors in different university programs is a positive step towards a diversified working environment. However, universities should make sure that students qualification required for each field is the first priority.