UNIVERSITY/GOVERNMENT RESPONSE TO THE BATTLE CRY OF THE EDUCATION SECTOR “ACADEMIC BREAK”

Education is the most important thing in the world that an individual should possess. We, Filipino believe that education is the only way to be grateful in life and have a better future. Life is full of challenges and obstacles that we need to face and should never outrun but what if we are not only looking at our lives but also others? And what if this pandemic will change the usual education we had? Are we ready? Are they ready? Is the government ready for the consequences? The question that bothers me the most is that if the system of education changes what they will do? We all know not every one of us is capable or even afford to be in school, what will be their actions? Year 2020 wasn’t the year for everyone, Covid-19 pandemic visited the Philippines and the cases arise from different cities of Manila. This pandemic changes a lot of things in the life of Filipinos. Every one of us needs to adjust; new laws and protocols were implemented. People are scared from what is happening to our country. This is now the “New Normal. ” Filipino starve because all companies need to shut down, stores are closed even malls and schools. The government started to tremble for the situation, they gave their best for all the Filipinos, yet it was not enough because many lives were taken by this pandemic and gradually increasing as days went by. Due to these circumstances, Most Filipino families are wondering what will happen to the education of their children. In this time of crisis, Department of Education and Commission on Higher Education proposed and suggested the Online Class and suddenly approved instead of having face-to-face interaction with the students. In line with this, it will not be too risky for every student in exposing themselves to the virus. This proposal was a big help for others and some, it is not. New Normal was implemented in our Education system through online classes but some students and families are against this kind of education because not all students have their gadgets for the online classes. The pandemic came, work stopped and the education was still in session through online learning. Many issues arose and conflict was addressed; some are having problem regarding the internet they have, don’t have money to buy load, no money for the Wi-Fi, and the saddest part is that they don’t have the gadget to start with the online class so others are forced to have the modular type of education. Through this reality in life, students are started to voice out their opinions and trying to reach out to our government to have an academic freeze or break. Many reasons for them to stop, but there is also reason to continue for the online classes. Many are pushing for the education sector to skip this school year so no students will be left behind. The government stands by their decision to reopen the classes despite the pandemic and become subject for debate. The response to the new normal education and academic freeze is to take opportunities to reshape the way of teaching. Education sectors and Chairman strongly suggested the different modes of teaching, either Modular or Online class. Since lockdown is started, the response of government education is to continue the school year with different perspectives. LGUs are doing their best to help their fellow citizen to cope up in everything, some organizations help other families to buy own gadgets for the children and teachers are handling modules in the rural area to cope up for the subjects and other activities. We are in the midst of a challenging year, yet here we are coping with struggles and to survive for our loved ones. Education is a powerful weapon for an individual thus it may or may not discover what will be our future and greatness in life still it will be a very precious gift for our parents and to ourselves. During this pandemic, we show our camaraderie to one another, affections that can help other Filipino people struggling to survive to everyday needs. We are truly a FILIPINO, whatever happened BAYANIHAN is still there and will remain always to each of every one of us. We cry yet we still manage to wipe out all those tears through solving, love, and passion. Thank you very much for all the Front liners out there, they are truly a hero and to my fellow students that are having trouble in their studies, WE CAN DO THIS! We pray, I pray that the Philippines will be free from COVID-19. Students out there! Just hold on to our dreams and let our cries be heard by the government and pray that these tough times will end.