UNIVERSITY/GOVERNMENT RESPONSE TO THE BATTLE CRY OF THE EDUCATION SECTOR “ACADEMIC BREAK”

Year 2020 wasn’t the year for everyone, Covid-19 pandemic definitely visited the Philippines and the cases arise from different cities of Manila. This pandemic changes a lot of things in life of Filipino. Every one of us need to adjust; new laws and protocols was implemented. People are scared from what is happening to our country. This is now the “New Normal. ” Filipino starve because all companies need to shut down, stores are closed even malls and schools. Government started to tremble for the situation, they gave their best for all the Filipino, yet it was not enough because many lives were taken by this pandemic and gradually increasing as days went by. Due to these circumstances, Most of Filipino families are wondering what will happen to the education of their children. In this time of crisis, Department of Education and Commission on Higher Education proposed and suggested the Online Class and suddenly approved instead of having face to face interaction of the students. In line with this, it will not be too risky for every student in exposing themselves from the virus. This proposal was a big help for others and for some, it is not. New Normal was implemented in our Education system by means of online classes but some students and families are against with this kind of education because not all students have their own gadgets for the online classes. Pandemic came, work stopped and the education was still in session through online learning. Many issues arose and conflict was addressed; some are having problem regarding to the internet they have, don’t have money to buy load, no money for the Wi-Fi and the saddest part is that, they don’t have a gadget to start with the online class so others are forced to have modular type of education. Through this reality in life, students are started to voice out their opinions and trying to reach out to our government to have academic freeze or break. Many reasons for them to stop, but there also reason to continue for the online classes. Many are pushing for the education sector to skip this school year so no students will be left behind. The government stands by their decision to reopen the classes despite the pandemic and become subject for debates. The response for the new normal education and for academic freeze is to take opportunities to reshape the way of teaching. Education sectors and Chairman strongly suggested the different modes of teaching, either Modular or Online class. Since lockdown are started, the response of government education is to continue the school year with different perspectives. LGUs are doing their best to help their fellow citizen to cope up in everything, some organizations help other family to buy own gadgets for the children and teachers are handling modules in rural area to cope up for the subjects and other activities.