Many places around the world heavily rely on tourism because of the huge benefits it brought however, undeniably, it has its negative side too, which is believed to be impacting the local communities, and the environment.

Many places around the world heavily rely on tourism because of the huge benefits it brought however, undeniably, it has its negative side too, which is believed to be impacting the local communities, and the environment. In my opinion, the merits of this industry are far more than its drawbacks which can be managed if proper measures are taken. (They are not asking for a solution) On one hand, International tourism is considered to be a curse for local people and their surroundings. Environmental pollution is one of the obvious repercussions of this; When huge numbers of people visit any tourist destination, they invariably burden the transportation system, therefore, contributing to pollution. (the idea is not fully explained) Additionally, it often puts a strain on one of the important natural resources i. e. , water. It forces residents to compete for this critical resource. For instance, in 2018, Shimla faced one of the worst water scarcity crises, as a result, travellers had to cancel their booking, which shows the dreadful side of tourism. On the other hand, it has its share of benefits. Firstly, as foreigners spend money on food, hotels, shopping, and other activities, they end up adding to the foreign exchange of that country which too has a positive impact on the local economic growth. Secondly, it generates employment opportunities because more tourist means more people require to handle them in hotels, restaurants, and so on. Thirdly, to attract the traveller’s, countries management often invest in the infrastructures such as roads, rail network, medical, and educational facilities, hence locals also get benefited. Finally, it promotes cross-cultural understanding for both locals and tourists. To conclude, International tourism has its pros and cons but as far as the government and people are concerned, it is more advantageous and the negative consequences it has can be curbed or minimise with proper management.