University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is often said that, government should financially aid the students’ university education without considering their economic background. I disagree with this notion. I opine that the Government should only help the candidates who are poor in terms of financial status. This essay will discuss why students with poor economic backgrounds only need to be considered to avail free education. In recent years, the government is experiencing a clear down surge in its economy and helping the school pass outs, to join college, financially, will lead to further debts for the government. Thus, providing free education for everyone is seldom possible. For example, there are few countries, which provide free education for adults, are facing a huge financial crisis, which hinders its economic development. On one hand, there are people in society who are above the poverty line, with a strong financial background, could pay for their university education and hence there is no need for the government to help them in terms of tuition fee. On the other hand, there is a section in the society, who cannot afford to pay for their college, deprived of education because of money, should be identified and offered education with zero fees. Countries such as India, for instance, enables students' with low income to have free education, by providing appropriate scholarships, which uplifts them both economically and intellectually. To conclude, like a coin that has two sides, there are both merits and demerits associated with the government paying for its students' university education. However, considering the level of necessity and the dreadful impacts it could have on the economical status of the government, I strongly advocate that the government should only reckon the penniless to offer free education rather than aiding all the students to pursue their university education.