Universities should accept equal numbers of men and women in every subject.

Gender issues have been increasing in importance through the centuries. In almost every sphere of human activity, there has been a movement towards greater equality between men and women. Although I agree that universities should open their doors to all students alike, in my view, they need not set a fixed limit on the number of men and women they accept in each subject. The bases for my views are psychological and personal. Psychologically-speaking, men and women are simply different, though they have the same potential for greatness. For example, women tend to be more intuitive, sensitive to others and caring. This means they may feel drawn, on the basis of their personalities, to certain kinds of professions such as teaching, nursing, or psychology, even if all fields are open to them. In such a context, it is best for universities to choose the best applicants, regardless of gender. Personally, students need to discover their true calling. This is an individual matter and is not influenced by the universities reserving seats for men or women. For example, if the majority of women shy away from math or engineering, perhaps it has to do with their upbringing, which has influenced their interests. The universities will not be able to reverse this trend, though they should always look out for the most qualified candidates.