The proportion of elderly people in some societies is increasing rapidly. Do you think the negative effect of such trend outweigh the positive effect?

These days, the percentage of older people is rising rapidly in some countries. In my opinion, the negative effects of this trend outweigh the positive effects, and in this essay, I will explain why. On one hand, the ageing population makes beneficial contributions to their communities, because a number of the elderly engages in voluntary work after retirement. In fact, values nurtured by voluntary work, such as solidarity, reciprocity, mutual trust, belonging and empowerment, contribute significantly to the well-being of the citizens and communities. For example, some volunteer programs assign older volunteers who serve as efficient tutors by making use of their experience to low-performing schools, which helps to connect them with others, develop children`s academic outcomes, and improve school functioning, all of which are essential for the individual and community well-being. On the other hand, an increasing number of the elderly places a greater burden on the health care system, because the elderly generally experience chronic diseases, such as cancer, diabetes, and cardiovascular diseases. Specifically, as the elderly, who are treated for chronic diseases that are rarely cured completely, account for a greater percentage of the population, a huge amount of health care provision and expenditure in hospitals is spent on those people, which causes health care costs to increase. What is more, the higher percentage of older people and declining fertility rate cause the workforce to decrease, which results in wage inflation that leads to a rise in the cost of living. In conclusion, as we have seen, the higher percentage of the elderly have both positive and negative effects. However, it has negative effects on a broader range of areas, from the health care system to the economy, so I believe that the negative effects of this trend outweigh the positive effects.