Universities Should Accept Equal Number Of Male And Female Students In Each Subject

According to some people, the number of boys and girls admitted to any course should be the same. In other words half of the seats should be reserved for male candidates and half should be reserved for female candidates. I do not agree with this view. In my opinion, merit, and not gender, should be the criterion for admission into university programmes. The argument that Having the same number of men and women on all degree courses is simply unrealistic. To start with, it shows utter disregard for merit. If seats are reserved on the basis of gender, many meritorious students will fail to get admission. Universities should select best students that are qualified enough for the subject based on their talent and performances, not on their sex. Therefore, both men and women can have opportunities to achieve their goals as they know that their success in school is based on good performances. Another argument against reserving seats on the basis of gender is the difference in the aptitude of men and women. Certain courses like nursing, home science or teaching are more popular among the girls. Likewise, certain courses like engineering and mechanics are more popular among boys. If half of the seats are reserved for boys in a nursing course, chances are many seats will lie vacant. At the same time, many meritorious girls will fail to get admission. Even in courses where both boys and girls have the same aptitude, this arrangement will prevent many deserving candidates from gaining admission just because they belong to the other gender. In conclusion, university education is important for both male and female but admitting them in equal proportion is out of question practically as well as socially.