Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary.

Doubtless, it is to say, that people consuming to much food like pizza, burgers or sweets or often get overweight. Thereby, it is not just a problem to these individuals, it has a great impact to the whole society. Consequently, in contrast to some other opinions, the idea came up to introduce a ‘fat tax’ on these products to change the consumption behaviour. However, this is a controversial issue, which will be discussed in the following essay, ending with my point of view. Firstly, there is to mention, that indeed a significant number of people, especially in the wealthier countries, weigh too much, as they eat very unhealthy food. This causes several problems for themselves, because people, who are overweight, in general, gets more often ill, injured and even die earlier. So, these specific individuals are a considerable pressure to the health care systems, due to a more frequent use of medicaments, doctors and hospital capacities. As a result, it just seems to be logical to eliminate the origin of these risks by a higher pricing of these products. On the other hand, the general introduction of such a ‘fat tax’ would be related to a minority, not to the bigger part of the population, as the most people are able to eat healthy enough not to be overweight. Another factor, which should not be forgotten, is the enormous food economy, like the numerous restaurants with many working places, making pizzas, various burgers or sweet dishes, could be harmed seriously by such an intervention of the government. Furthermore, every person is responsible for their own and if they getting thick and ill, it is also a self-caused problem, with the consequence that they probably have to pay a higher contribution to the health care system. Finally, there are several other opportunities to solve this problem on short as well as on long term. For instance, a permission of these huge amounts of advertisements according to fast food or sweets can purpose a change. In addition, education about healthy eating seems to be a topic of significant importance. In conclusion, weighing up pros and cons, I think to get a successful change in the peoples’ consumption a ‘fat tax’ is the wrong instrument. Special school lessons, for example, are much more effective on long term and may can reverse the current, frightening development. However, at the end every one, except children, who should be taught by their parents, are responsible for their own.