Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. This saying holds true in the modern world where you can consider yourself to have an appealing personality only if validated by everyone around you. The prompt suggests that contemporary society now holds the desirability of an image to a higher standard than the reality that lies behind it. I strongly agree with this statement about how we nowadays look outward for validation of ourselves rather than inward and how it is wrong for two reasons. The importance of our image in the eyes of others is extremely vital especially if you are a person whose career depends on it. An ideal example would be the Kardashians’ who are reality stars, models and beauty moguls. Their whole livelihood depends on how the public perceives them, and they leave no stone unturned to make sure that their image projected is an infallible one. Due to the current rise in this mindset seen in generation Z, the beauty standards of today are both irrational and unattainable by the average person. People feel pressured to hold this fake “internet personality” for the sake of likes and followers. Social media sure has been a catalyst in this drive of young individuals seeking an appealing image than accepting themselves the way they are and who’s to blame? In the last few years, social media has taken over our lives in every way. It seems to be taking away people’s self-confidence and personalities alongside many other things. The problem with today’s generation is that they don’t love themselves enough to let others love them just the way they are. So the question is, have you lost yourself to the virtual world? Fake profiles, over-edited pictures, an excessive show of skin? While these stunts get more likes on social profiles, ask yourself, “Is this really me? ” The number of likes a person gets has overruled a person’s self-esteem (or well, maybe it has become directly related). How far can a person take it anyway? Eventually, people will find out that what they see on profiles is not nearly the same thing in reality. So what happens when the cover is dropped? Maybe we’ve failed as a society but by today’s standards, having a flawless image is regarded higher than having a raw personality. It is true that the actual reality behind the image of a person is more important, but the bitter truth is that society no longer wishes to see the reality. This can be seen much clearer in the toxic “hustle culture” promoted these days. When we open LinkedIn, you will see it flooded with posts of accomplishments and certifications. Our online presence is given so much importance, our worth is measured in the amount of accolades we have rather than the hardwork and determination we put into achieving it. Someone may be an entirely different person in reality, but it will only be more important if they create an appealing image for themselves to be successful. This inimical hustle culture is glorified and praised for. Sleepless nights, burnouts, over working or atleast showing that you are, is given higher importance than the actual work. Here we see clearly how the image we create for ourselves will create a way for us to succeed or not. And we might think that the persona projected by someone is imperative to judge that person, it does not completely hold water. This “Rise of the Artificial” proves that the representation of oneself is more cardinal than the actual truth behind, whether it is a distorted one or not. While one may argue that what we project to the world is the only true projection of oneself, the recent numbers in depression rates among young individuals don't project the same. Young adults are now calculating their self worth by the gratification they get by people merely judging their semblance. Everybody wants to be with those people who are good to get along with and it is evident that it is far more important to create an appealing image rather than concentrating on the reality behind that image, especially if you are keen on succeeding in life. Sadly, our Face-value is viewed higher than our true values.