Unemployment is one of the biggest problems of contemporary society. What do you think are the main causes of unemployment? What solutions can you suggest?

The lack of employment has been troubling many countries around the globe for many decades now. This essay will examine two major causes of unemployment and also present two possible solutions to curtail the same. The two primary causes of a huge number of unemployed people around the world are; overpopulation and illiteracy. Firstly, when the population of a country increases, the demand for new jobs also rises; and if the government is not able to generate more employment opportunities, the unemployment numbers climb. To exemplify, India, the second most populated country in the world, is struggling to fulfill the employment needs of its, approximately one and a half billion, population. Secondly, unemployment numbers also surge due to the lack of education. Neither the government nor the private employers can employ people who do not possess any knowledge or skill. The two possible solutions that can be used to reduce unemployment are; controlling the population and increasing the literacy rate. To commence with, authorities should take strict measures to control the unnecessary rise in population. China, for example, has imposed a law that parents to only one child will be able to get the government benefits. Also, governments should start improving their education systems, especially in rural areas. Both of these actions will not only help to lessen the unemployment numbers but also create a better society, in general. To conclude, although it is an undeniable fact that our world is struggling to counter the problem of unemployment; however, if the above-mentioned steps are taken, it can still be reduced considerably.