Understanding that difference between right and wrong behavior is a very essential aspect that most be incorporated into children at their early age. It seems giving them punishment on their wrongdoing at this critical period of their lives could do more harm than good as this could cause health challenges and violation of societal law in some countries.

First of all, people should understand that incorporation of good behavior into children starts as early as possible because they tend to grow up with the teaching and this become part and parcel of their life. Engaging children to serve punishment as a way to train children is not societal-friendly in some countries. For instance, in European countries, children have the right to sue their parents if they are being given severe punishment and this is believed it be Child Abuse. This could endanger the mutual relationship between parents and their children, some children might even be disrespectful towards their parents. Secondly, some children have become a victim of health challenges at their tender age as a result of undergoing punishment for all their wrongdoing such as a child whose parent accidentally poured hot water on while being punished for not putting of the gas, this child had to be treated for burns and scald may be permanent. Moreover, some children exposed to severe punishment tend to lost their self esteem as they grow up because they often have fear of uncertainty. Many of this children ended up being irresponsible adult as some have psychological problems, lost hope in themselves thus might resort to misbehave throughout their productive life. Admittedly, punishment could be seen to yield a good result such as creating fear in children to prevent them from committing same offence continuously. Additionally, this could groom them to be responsible for their future achievement if they understand the reason for being punished and produced the needed behavioural changes. Nevertheless, parents and teachers can utilize some techniques for behavioural modification in children in a constructive manner. For instance, they can seize their playtime by engaging them with some acitives that they do not have interest in such as moderate house chores. Another example, is giving them house arrest and disallowing them to play with their toys for a short period of time but they needed to be aware of the reason behind this and the result they intend to generate from those children. Additionally, parent and guardian should call the children's attention to their mistakes and need to yield to correction. Also, children should be given chance to express themselves and be listened to. In conclusion, I believe children can be taught how to differentiate between good and bad behavior without being severely punished.