Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the decades, surging number of crime rate is one of the largest problem all over the world. In the UK and Australia, laws are protecting suspects by providing juries with no access to former criminal record of the defendant. It therefore is argued by some lawyers that juries shoud be given full set of information before they verdict and I agree with this statement. One of the main reasons I support this idea is that some people have continuous habits of crime. That is to say, serial killers should be sentenced with severer punishment in order to their tendency of repetitive murder. Having killed multiple victims, juries should not ignore the fact of past criminal record. Japan is a country where past criminal record is considered before the verdiction and more survage criminals are sentenced to life-long prison or death penalty. Another reason is that this additional action may reduce wrong judge. Some individuals whould say hiding past criminal record from juries can offer fair judge, which is totally reversed ideology. Although juries cannot judge criminals from their appearance or personality, sometimes their habits of crime and how they think matter. For example, there was a life-sentenced criminal who had been drawing golf field dreaming visiting their one day in the UK. After a magazine interviewer met this neat, obedient, and sophisticated without past criminal record inmate, he doubted that this criminal actually commited a murder. Having police and lawyer investigated again, the criminal turned out he was innocent. This instance clearly shows how past record and their personality are related. All things considered, though it is understandable to hide past criminal record from juries, in order to consider continuous crime and avoid wrong sentences, juries shoud be allowed to access the record.