Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is an undeniable fact that life is unimaginable without people. In fact, rules and regulation are omnipresent which are indispensable. A few section of the society opine that access should be given for the past criminal record to a jury. However, I differ from them and opine that all records should be maintained confidentially. Thus, I firmly disagree with the presented statement. I elucidate my stand in the following paragraph The first and predominent reason for not supporting the concept of sharing the past criminal records is that accused who might committed a crime in the past will definitely not commit anything against rules. In other words, a person indulged in the criminal activities such as robbery, chain snatching, and drug trafficking was finally incarcerated for 10 years. After releasing from the rehabilitation center, the same person will be arrested for any suspicious activity. To exemplify this point, we can consider the judgement happended last year that is, the accused person had been released by the court because of his innocent behaviour eventhough he was filed as a criminal. If his past criminal record was reviewed by a jury then his life will be in a jeopardy Furthermore, one more convincing point that cannot be ignore is that, people works against the government in order to help their family members and friends. To justify, I would quote an example of a criminal released from the prison because upon close examination, he did the crime in order to save his friends from the contagious disease which is an evident proof if this phenomenon. So, the past life of the criminal should not digged out and maintain stringent procedure for his first information report copy. In conclusion, I recapitulate that there are innumerable strong arguments supporting not to grant access to a jury for the past criminal files. Hence, I firmly disagree with the presented statement