Write about the following topic: In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In United Kingdom, senior citizens are mostly sent to live in old age facility with other old age counterparts. As care is provided by nurses, the cost has to be payed by either government or the relatives of old citizens. In some cases, government takes the financial burden for this care. It would be more suitable if government can take financial burden for this look after. The government in UK collects substantial amount of taxes from general public, which can be use to fund the expenses of this care. However, if government do not have enough amount from taxes, it can introduce a new tax specially on extra wealthy people to cover up the shortage in revenue. By doing this, government can provide relief common families who cannot bear the cost by themselves. On contrary, the another point of view is that families should absorb the financial burden of this care. Most of senior people with their families have either savings or pension which can be used to pay the expenses. Moreover, children of senior fellows can support to pay the expenses from there own earnings. However, not everyone can afford to pay specially in cases where families do not have enough money from the earnings they made. To conclude, in my opinion, government should fully bear the cost of care for old citizens rather than paying for few families. This would significantly reduce the burden on families whose income levels are low. Moreover, this will also help to improve the care services with more government control.