Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

IT's known that in England and Australia access is denied for the jury to review any old criminal records when judging an accused suspect for possibly doing any acts that harm the society. This rule is for the sake of protection. Yet, it's also suggested by some lawyers that this should be cancelled and a full access to old criminal records should take place before making any decisions. This essay disagrees with the arguement because firstly, this will lead to a biased decision, and secondly, it will affect the ethical confidentiality. It has never been a great step to overpass confidential documents that relate to a defendant's past criminal record. This is because the jury will be possibely refering to unrelated data about the current case, and use them against the defendant. This act will discourage lawyers to take any further new cases because they will realize that all their efforts will not lead to their desired outcomes. For example, one of the regions in lebanon that allows access to old data, has 74% of decisions that accuse the defendants just because of their old criminal records. Moreover, Ethical confidentiality will be on stake. Any access to old data will lead to a mistrust of the judgement, and this will evoke the public opinions leading to violence in the streets because people will want a change in the judging system. For instance, In Saida city, upon a survey conducted recently, 82% of people do not trust the system and think that it is ethically corrupted and unfair. In conclusion, access to any old criminal data should not take place because this will lead to a biased judgement, and it will ruin any ethical confidentialty.