'Types of Crimes have not changed since the beginning of the 19th century, only the methods used to commit them. ' How far do you agree?

Since the beginning of the 19th century, there have been many changes to the law. Some of these changes regard the same crimes but acknowledge the different ways to commit them (such as online crime with the development of the internet), but many of the changes regard completely new crimes. Many new crimes have been introduced as a result of changing attitudes, which reflect changes in the diversity of Britain (through emigration), and the legalisation of crimes like homosexualality. I disagree with the statement as I believe that since the 19th century many new crimes have been introduced. Many crimes have not changed since the beginning of the 19th century, only the methods used to commit them, such as fraud. You can see laws against fraud in the 18th century (fraud was part of the capital code), showing that it was a crime in the beginning of the 19th century, however methods used to commit it changed and the laws, such as the ‘computer misuse act’ (1990), reflect these changes. The crime changed due to a development in technology, resulting in the internet and widespread access to computers. Emails or texts are sent to thousands of people at a time, in hope that a few will result in obtaining bank details, or personal information which is used to commit fraud. As before people were impersonated in a similar way, to gain access to bank accounts and make money, however now the way to gain the information is online rather than in person. This shows that many crimes have stayed the same, with changes in the methods used to commit them. However, on the other hand, there were totally new crimes as well, for example race crimes. This is seen in the Race Relations Act (1968), when it became illegal to deny someone housing or jobs based on their race. This was a totally new crime, because immigration to Britain after WW2 massively increased, with people emigrating to Britain from the Caribbean, India and Pakistan especially. As Britain before 1900 was much less racially diverse and because people held more racist attitudes, race crimes had not been defined before the 1960s. Therefore, this shows the types of crimes had at least partially changed since the 19th century. Other new crimes were illegalised during the 21st century, such as homophobic crimes. In 2005, the Criminal Justice Acts gave powers to prosecute homophobic crimes. This reflects changing attitudes of people, as it became less acceptable to be homophobic, and more people publically identified as homosexual. Previous to this, in the 19th century, it was illegal to be homosexual, as many believed it was wrong, due to religion (christianity) frowning upon homosexual acts (in the bible), and therefore anti-homosexual were legal, and homophobic attitudes widely spread and accepted. This shows that new types of crimes have emerged since the 19th century. Overall I disagree with the statement, I believe many crimes have changed since the beginning of the 19th century, such as race crimes and homophobic crime, miainly as a result of changing attitudes. Although I acknowledge that some crimes have stayed the same, such as fraud, and the methods used to commit them have changed as a result of technological advances, I mainly disagree with the statement due to my belief that there have been major changes in the types of crimes since the beginning of the 19th century.