Many educational institutions give greater importance to subjects related to science and ignore subjects such as drama and literature.

Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development? Nowadays, many vital non scientific subject are neglected in most schools and universities. There are a number of reasons behind this trend. I stongly think that this has more drawbacks than its benefits which will be discussed in the following lines, On one hand, there are various reasons why some educational institutions tend to teach only scientific subjects. The main reasosn is the job market. The demand for scientists and related professions is increasing significantly which has led to jobs with high salaries. This has motivated many students to get a major in science. According to a survey conducted by a group of scholars in Cairo University in 2020, 80 percent of students in Egypt enrolled in medical schools because of the financial benefits provided for those who work in the medical field. This is why there is majorty of the Egyptians compete to get in medical schools. On the other hand, . The neglection of these subjects can led to a destructive impact on the society for the following reasons. Firstly, subject ssuch art, history and literature play a key role in any society. Learning literature can help individuals to know who to develop their ideas and express themselves. Moreover, it improves their reasoning and problem solving skills. They can make them better communicators as well. All of these skills are crucial for the future of all nations. For example, afflunet countries such as China has built specialized art schools to develope the skills of its nation. This has led to a tremendously strong and intelligent society. In addtion, the shortage of the teachers might affect the education quality. Some children might have no ones to educate them Thus, they might turn to crime to feed themselves. In conclusion, having presented the idea aboves, I strongly believe that demerits of this trend outweighs it merits.