Transportation before the Industrial Revolution

Prior to the Industrial Revolution, the road traffic was primitive and became a great concern of citizens, stated by History. com. People did not regularly go outside or go too far away from their home except for incredibly important things due to the fact that travel might take a long, slow, difficult and somehow impassable. The road system is usually poor and tends to be manufactured with low quality, they are usually constructed by mud. Therefore, when the rainy season or winter came, it was way more challenging than ever because it increases the chance of damaged vehicles causing danger for people on the road (bbc. co. uk). The most prevalent transport for travel at that time were domesticated animals, and people also used them to pull the wagons and carriages for those who don’t know how to ride them. However, they were costly since we need to give them food and also take time to take care, for this reason, the residents generally choose to walk (Ducksters). On the other side, water transportation was the most convenient way for the merchants to trade and freight the large amount of merchandise through rivers and coastal trade with canals, as indicated by ThoughtCo. . According to the report of bbc. co. uk, John Macadam was the one who helped to enhance the road network, make it easier to transport despite the weather change by innovating tarmac in the 1820s.