Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. What are the problems people face due to traffic? Discuss the possible solutions to overcome it. rxlk

As people rely more on their personal cars in order to travel within cities, there is an increase in traffic congestion and it is becoming a serious issue. In this essay, I will discuss 2 main challenges people face due to car traffic and 2 effective solutions to tackle this issues. To begin with, individuals always try to be on time for their work, meetings and family gatherings, however, due to increased traffic in major cities people need to leave their houses early to reach their destinations on time. For instance, in the city of San Francisco, people wait at least 20 minutes at a red light during rush hours. Secondly, cars release various harmful gasses and micro-particles, which are affecting human’s health drastically. Pedestrians are exposed to such toxic substances through their walk in the big cities. To demonstrate, research findings by Harvard University show that foreign substance inhalation related lung diseases in pedestrians have increased by 35% in the last 10 years. Fortunately, people can be encouraged to use public transport instead of their personal vehicles if improvements in poor public transport options is made. Upgrading seat comfort, ventilation and routes of the public services will help many people to start using busses and trains which will fasten the traffic flow. For example, in London most of the citizens do not own a car due to excellent public transport services. In addition, imposing a higher tax on cars specifically old cars which releases even more toxic substances than new ones, will decrease the amount of cars in the cities as well as it will help with clearing the air for pedestrians. In conclusion, the growing issue of heavy traffic in the cities is causing problems to individuals and they can be successfully solved if various measures, such as improving the public transportation system and charging higher taxes for car ownership are introduced.