“Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. ” Why is this the case? What can individuals and the government do to tackle this problem?

In this day and age, traffic congestion is a wordwide concern that city inhabitants must confront with. In my view, this phenomenon occurs due to two causes and lots of realistic remedies have to be figured out to address it by citizens. The prime reason is the dramatically growth in the number of residents in city centres. The majority of the population tend to migrate to developing location where provide them with a high-wage jobs rather than work day and night on a modest scale in rural area. In consequence, there is always a large amount of traffic on the streets everday, especially private transports are extensively utilized. This might contribute to heavy traffic for a long period. Another factor is the poor state of metropolitan roads. The transportation infrastructure is not sufficient enough to meet the demands of dwellers’ commute at rush hours when everyone leave the house at the same time. On the other hand, some imperative measures ought to be taken to tackle these prospective issues. Firstly, it is essential for the government to charge a toll to enter certain parts of the city at specific hours of the day and invest in the public transport systems. If commuters do not afford to pay, they will put limits on movement or travel by bus or train instead of private vehicles. And in practice it seems to work: Singapore, London and Stockholm have reduced traffic jams in major cities thanks to congestion pricing. Secondly, each individual should change working habits. We need to make a flexible and efficent timetable by telecommuting at off-peak times to avoid rush hours. In conclusion, there are two primary reasons result in traffic congestion and people must work together to eliminate this critical problem.