Traditional learning and E-learning

Traditional learning is a formal version of training that takes place in a classroom. It is performed in front of the learners. On the other hand, E-learning is a web-based learning. It can be taken at any time by using an internet-connected device. Finally, there is blended learning, in which both traditional learning and E-learning will be mixed. Traditional learning is a type of learning that people are most familiar with. The location of teaching is in the classroom. There is a teacher, who is presenting the materials. There are several advantages of traditional learning. Firstly, highly-trained teachers can adapt their presentations to the personality and skill level of the audiences in the classroom. Secondly, instructor-led training (ILT) in the traditional learning classes can divide the students to several brainstorming or role-playing groups. Students get an opportunity to learn from each other specially for collaborative subjects. Finally, one of the most important advantages of traditional learning is that students in a classroom setting are more engaged with the subject and they are more focused. There are challenges or disadvantages of the traditional learning such as, high cost of running, inconsistent teaching styles of the teachers. Another disadvantage of traditional learning is the requirement of physical availability i. e. you cannot participate, if you are away from the location of the classroom. During COVID19 pandemic, schools with traditional learning had been changed to E-learning system. E-learning is referring to any online training at any time in any location. Since it’s an online teaching, it includes many activities such as videos and images. Upcoming technologies in the E-learning is promising more immersion for students or employees, such as virtual reality simulations, augmented reality, interactive videos, geofenced training areas, gamification, mobile learning, and personalized learning paths. There are several advantages of E-learning. Firstly, E-learning is saving money such as travel costs. Secondly, It allows the students/employees with more flexibility to access the materials where and when they have the time to perform the tasks and this will suit for students/employees who travel to a distant location. Finally, the teacher can create personalized custom E-learning materials which can be tailored to match the specific learner by pause training, test out, or reread information they previously know. This increase the memorization of the information. To reach the above advantages of E-learning, the materials must be accessible and organized. The E-learning presentation must be promoted, but not distracted by animations and visuals. There are some disadvantages of the E-learning such as, E-learning that depend on overly animations or flashy graphics will distract the students. E-learning can become quickly outdated for rapidly developing fields, unless active updating are part of the E-learning design process. There is less social interaction in E-learning. New skilled persons needed in E-learning. Similar to the traditional learning, E-learning courses must concentrate on the core principles of pedagogical design to concisely transfer the information to your students. In conclusion, it depends on what your specific needs are. Some topics will greatly benefit from instructor-led training. However, some will be better matched to E-learning, but in some situations such as during coronavirus spreading you have only one choice (E-learning). It also depends on number of students per teacher and training resources. In general, mixed learning that includes both traditional and E-learning may work best for many as traditional learning can incorporate several different styles of learning and it also build relationships. But in the same time, E-learning is more flexible, and students can refer back to the materials over and over. Therefore, blended learning combine advantages of both options. It incorporates face-to-face and online elements and had a larger benefit than traditional or E-learning alone.