Proposal for Opening School of Nursing Soran University

This document outlines the proposal for the establishment of a new school of nursing at the Soran University. The vision is to position the Soran University as an international leader in health professions, education, practice, and research. It aims at addressing the workforce needed for our community. The Soran Nursing School would be based in the Soran University, Ashty General Hospital, and Soran Children and Maternity Hospital in the Soran region. The proposal is structured as follow: proposal overview; executive summary; justification; goals and objectives (vision and mission); core values; project activities (project requirements, work plan, key personnel, curriculum, and partners); monitoring and evaluation; sustainability; budget summary and budget narrative; and conclusion. The health care industry is undergoing transformative changes due to many factors, including unsustainable increases in cost, an aging patient and nurse population, a primary care provider shortage, and the need to shift from a medical education and health care delivery system focused on providing episodic care to one designed to prevent and manage disease. To respond to this transformation, in November 2020, a team in the Soran University started to write a proposal on the feasibility of opening new nursing school in the Soran University with a partnership with two local hospitals. This educational plan includes a more robust evaluation of the needs for the financial and resource implications of a new nursing school.