Why teachers resist learner-centered pedagogy?

First reason: The teachers feel threatened when shifting the responsibility for learning to the students. It is difficult, especially for experienced teachers, to let go of complete control in the classroom and share power with students. The nature of learner-centered teaching shifts the balance of power in the classroom. In order for students to learn, they must be given more opportunity and responsibility to engage with the concepts and construct their own understanding. What does the power shift look like? It does not involve handing all of the power to the students and losing control as a leader. There is a reason you are the teacher. The power shift is more about sharing responsibility for learning with the students. Second reason: Some teachers believe that only very advanced and mature students would benefit from learner-centered approach. This is wrong because the beginner students can also learn enough from learner-centered approach. This approach can benefit any student despite their educational starting point. Third reason: The teachers believe that they are not able to cover enough content, if they switch their course from a teacher-centered approach to a more learner-centered one. Remember, the role of content in your class is to guide the knowledge base students must acquire, and to provide an opportunity for developing learning skills within that knowledge area. A learner-centered teaching approach uses content to achieve this, while a teacher-centered approach just covers all the content that can fit into the course. It is more important that the students learn how to use their acquired knowledge rather than know all the facts presented in the vacuum of a classroom.