TPO 38 independent agree or not leadership comes naturally one cannot learn to be a leader

Top leadership has always been considered as the most critical success factor in project-based organizations without which the success rate of a firm's projects will fall drastically even more than 20%. In this context, there are mutually exclusive ideas regarding whether some people are born leaders or individuals can learn how to become effective ones. From my point of view, I am inclined to the latter notion in spite of the fact that the former has more aficionados among organizational managers. My answer to this debating bone of contention is twofold. In the following, the rationale behind it will be elaborated by the most outstanding, solid proofs. The first and foremost reason which is worth mentioning is that scholars have solved this issue long ago as this problem is literally crystal clear in academic articles. Technically, there are six leadership schools first of which is " Charismatic Leadership" which was introduced in early 19's century. In that time, most of leadership practitioners believed that leaders, such as Hitler, Gandi, and Nelson Mandella, were born leaders. They knew how to make people obey their orders intrinsically. However, fifty years later, Ralf Muller, the most renowned professor in this concept, introduced the latest leadership school, known as " leadership competency school" . In his famous article, published in " The Leadership Quarterly" , he insisted that leadership consists of various skills which can be learned. Therefore, it is now globally deemed that all individuals can be effective leaders providing that they try their best to learn its principles. The second and eqaully far-reaching explanation to bear in mind is that new innovative working conditions have been generated which really require new leadership techniques. This definitely proves that leadership is a teachable skill rather than a natural gift. To put it into a more vivid picture, researchers of RMIT university, a well-known knowledge institute in Australia, announced that IT companies will have entered their new " agile" era by the end of 2025. Having a completely new, albeit unfamiliar, hierarchy and working methodologies will need new leadership practices. Answering to this demand, PMI (Project Management Institute), located in the United States, published a new body of knowledge last year which aims to teach necessary skills of future leaders confronting the sophisticated technological world. Some of the new skills are: deep knowledge of programming, especially machine learning techniques; the ability to adhere to E-meeting agendas; and, the ability to lead multi-international team members in diverse locations. As leadership-related skills are being updated almost every year, no one can have this ability naturally. In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned rationalizations into account, I uphold that leadership can be achieved by everyone through learning although there are some exceptions which can be excluded from the general rule. To recapitulate my opinions, not only the concept of leadership underwent a drastic change at the beginning of the twentieth century as university professors disproved " Charismatic Leadership" concept, but also leadership skills are always being updated in order to become adjusted to the ever-changing environments of various industries, especially Information & Technology (IT) industry.