Tourism's impact on the local culture and economy

Tourism is sought to introduce a cultural site to the world, simultaneously to improve infrastructures and living standards. Apparently, travel agencies play a pivotal role in promoting a destination. With the coverage of adverts and banners about it on every social networking site, people are easily absorbed in and eager to take a trip, gradually leading to a constant influx of passengers. Certainly, investors are attracted by the potential of touristic development in such popularity, consequently raising funds to invest and renovate that site as well as to improve residents’ lives. The traveling industry is a key component of the global economy. Firstly, tourism is a potential tool to strengthen the economy due to its role in increasing tax revenue. To illustrate, the tourist industry accounted for 10. 2 percent of global GDP, with $1. 5 trillion in exports, 30 percent of those services, and a $2. 3 trillion direct contributions (World Travel and Tourism Council, 2017). Secondly, touristry is of paramount importance in generating employment. Residents in specific locations will have the opportunity to work as taxi drivers, accommodation providers, and tour guides. For this reason, the travel sector can reduce the unemployment rate as well as enhance the GDP. In short, tourism plays a crucial role in the economy.