Tourism has created many problems in many parts of the world. What problems have been created? What can be done to overcome them?

Since the past decade, tourism industry has witnessed tremendous amount of growth due to affordable prices of transportation facilities and hotels. But due to large influx of tourists, the holiday business is giving rise to a variety of troubles. If questioned, there are several problems and their solutions which have been discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, lot of difficulties are arising due to the sight seeing business all around the globe. First and foremost, pollution has increased hugely which affects the environment. As more number of travelers visit a place, they generally prefer private vehicles due to which the quality of air in that region deteriorates as harmful gases such as carbon dioxide(CO₂) are released from the exhaust of these vehicles. In addition to this, people keep on throwing garbage anywhere in the open which mainly includes plastic waste. Since plastic is non-biodegradable, it is not decomposed by the soil and hence, causes soil pollution. Moreover, the spread of contagious diseases can also be observed when a large group of people gather at a particular place. For instance, infectious diseases like cold or flu can spread easily through more amount of people who come in contact with the host of that particular disease. However, there are a range of options available to improve the situation. Government should run awareness campaigns and explain the damaging effects of littering a place. Additionally, it should also promote and improve the infrastructure of public transport such as airports, railway stations and buses. It should also impose heavy fines on people who litter. Furthermore, the authority should set up health checkup camps at airports or state borders. Also, people must wear masks and maintain social distancing at crowded places. To conclude, pollution and spreading of illness are some of the problems caused by tourism which can be overcome by improving public transportation and conducting health check up camps.