TOPIC: In the past, people used to live in larger families. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is true that living in multi-generational families was extremely popular in the old days. Although doing this has several benefits, the drawbacks may be far more significant. On the one hand, there are some minor advantages of living in bigger families. One possible benefit is that having old grandparents in the family may help take care of their grandchildren while the parents focus on working to earn money. Another beneficial effect could be that being part of a larger family enables children to have an opportunity to learn a plethera of things such as discipline, patience and moral values from their grandparents, uncles and aunts, which can make them become a well-mannered and respectful person in future. Nevertheless, people who live in an extended family with many generations can have major disadvantages which overshadow these positive impacts. The mose obvious issue is that these people can be confronted with the problem of huge generation gap due to different personalities and preferences, which can increase the chance of discord and make them deal with family conflicts. Another drawback worth mentioning could be that larger families have to pay for various expenditures such as households, transportation, food, … which means there will be less spending on a specific requirement, including education. As a result, children could not have a chance to gain a profound knowledge and improve social skills. In conclusion, despite the potential benefits of living in larger families, they can pale in comparison to the detrimental effects brought out.