ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES ESSAY: LIVING ABROAD

Often we hear about people leaving their homes, families and friends, to move out of their country and go to live or to study abroad usually on their own. But what are the advantages and what the disadvantages of this life-changing adventure? Let’s analyse the positive aspects first. One advantage of living abroad could be that you have to learn how to take care of yourself. Of course you will meet people who are going to help you, but remember that you are going to be on your own for that period of time. Another advantage is that you will get to know a completely new culture: each country has its very own language, traditions and lifestyle. Living abroad will certainly help you to understand this. However, as with anything, there are also downsides. You are going to spend a significant time period far from your family and your loved ones, and this can be very intimidating. Also, it is normal to be homesick and nostalgic every once in while, and to feel like you’re totally alone. You may feel like you don’t belong to this new life, that you have to build on your own from scratch in a a place where you don’t know anyone. Overall, I think that if you consider yourself an independent and flexible person, you are definitely going to enjoy living abroad, since this experience will help you grow and mature even more. On the contrary, if you are someone who can’t help but rely on people, such as your parents, you are probably not ready to dive into this big experience and it will probably end up in being a very bad adventure for you.