Today, TV channels broadcast man’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal showtime for women’s sport and men’s sport?

Nowadays, it is common to see overwhelming numbers of TV sport shows mostly featuring male athletes rather their female counterparts due to some cogent reasons. On a personal level, sports have nothing to do with genders and we ought to spend an equal time on broadcasting women’s sports so that more people can watch them. Unsurprisingly, TV producers mainly focus on male sport shows. One of the most convincing reasons is that its rating is always much higher than that of women, leading to more profits and investment from large advertising companies in the industry of entertainment. For instance, World Cup, the biggest football tournament in the planet, has brought FIFA tremendous opportunities to sell broadcasting rights those countries which are in need and hence been able to earn millions of dollars. Futhermore, when it comes to sports, a lot of individuals are likely to have typical words like strength and musclarity while women should be gentle and modest in the conventional line of thought. So, there are still few viewers knowing or caring female sports programmes. However, showtime for women sports should be extended. Firstly, the modern world has been making effort to rebuild gender bance in various discipline s of lives, including women’s right to appear on television in this case. Another point is that female athletes entirely deserve to receive more attention and recognition of their achievements from the society. A prime example for this is Nguyen Thi Anh Vien, a vietnamese swimming athlete had won seven gold medals in SEA GAMES 29 - a record previously unseen before to the country of Viet Nam. She transfered the sportmanship and the nationality pride to others and had a great contribution to the nation’s sports. Moreover, offering sport channels with the same time for both genders would raise community’s awareness of the health benefits of playing sports as well as practing positive lifestyles. In conclusion, no matter how long the stereotype of men as prioritiy has remained, TV show providers should allocate broadcasting time equally between men and women in the world where success could come from any one.