Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

It is argued that today some people think that newly constructed buildings should be overseen and planned out by governments, while others feel that those who construct it should be left alone. This essay will discuss one aspect of both views, firstly why the government should have a say, then why the builders should be left free with it and lastly it will conclude and showcase the personal opinion. The safeness of the people should always come first, therefore governments have to set numerous safety standards in order to assure it. These protocols should include government officials, whom check the plans of the construction so nothing dangerous can happen to those that will inhabit that certain building and also making them show all the information regarding the building. Therefore, if by any chance an accident occurs after these safety measures, construction companys and also the government officials could be held accountable. This would serve as an outstanding safety mechanism, which would save lives or serve justice. On the other hand construction companys operate the best in a free market, where they can operate on a suply and demand basis without any meaningful governmental intervention. Governmental bureaucracy slows down any progress in terms construction and meaningless mandated building designs only hinder it, therefore less people could be living in homes. If there is a high demand for housing, the best option is to let these companys build more houses, so the prices would fall. This would mean cheaper housing, which benefits everyone. In conclusion I think that both parties have their strong arguments, therefore I think it should not be an all or nothing problem. These aspects can work together, however as I have mentioned in terms of planning only one can decide on it. A mixed system where both the government and the builders have power is the best alternative, so they can create more and safer homes for the citizens.