Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays massive sales of favoured products demonstrate advertising has more influence on people to buy things which may even lack necessity to be purchased. I strongly believe that this statement is true. Today’s lifestyles are dominated by advertising industry in such a way that for working in this field, professionals need to know psychology, marketing and business knowledge. Marketing agents consume more time on advertising instead of other sections of marketing due to the powerful impact of commercials on people’s minds. Advertising agents manipulate people to buy things which are not practical or useful. For instance, cosmetic products adverts like anti-aging skincare commercials, which deceive customers by claiming aging-signs vanishes by using the product only for a short term of time. Furthermore, advertising companies introduce the product to individuals regardless of whether it is qualified or not. Therefore, many unhealthy or even hazardous adverts are watched these days for example, cigarettes commercials which encourage people specially youngsters to fume cigarette despite its harm to their body. Some may argue that advertising is essential for today’s life due to introducing customers’ hidden needs to them, but I believe that people are generally aware of their own requirements and if they need a promoter to remind them of something then it probably is not their real need but their tempt. In conclusion I strongly think advertisement push people to purchase goods regardless to their actual needs. Promoting deceivable commercials and also advertising hazardous products are common these days.