Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

Nowadays, marketing pushes products to consumers for gaining larger revenue while people might not require what they are selling. I agree that while advertisers might be pushy on convincing to purchase their products, however I also believe products usually are born out of necessity and inconvenience. Firstly, companies these days have a larger network where they are able to pursue their customers. Advertisement about products or services can reach people through mainstream such as TV, Newspaper and Radio as well as digital media such as social media. This goes to show the amount of power advertising has to convince customers to purchase their products. For example, brands track the customers around even on their social media accounts to push their products. Secondly, advertisers collect large quantity of data on consumers to know what they want so they can promote the particular products that their customers desire. Although advertisers may seem to be overwhelming consumers with marketing, these products are mostly born out of necessity. Unlike the traditional business model, companies these days are equipped with marketing research to know their customer’s need before they innovate a product. They focus on removing even the smallest inconvenience that exists, so they emphasize on upgrading the goods to be pulled by consumers, rather than following aggressive marketing strategies. When the companies upgrade the products to match the societies need, they advertise it to reach target audience and hence have higher sales. The example of success of the Coca-Cola Company with the Diet Coke, which is a sugar free option for more health conscious customers goes to show the innovation made by the company by consumer demand. In conclusion, while I think that the market is pushy with large amount of advertisers following customers promoting their product shows their power, but these products are innovated to meet the demands of the consumers to build customer convenience.