Today the high sales of popular consumer good reflect the power of advertising and not the read needs of the society in which they are sold.

n this contemporary world, if the company wants to survive, they need income which can be brought by selling their goods. They use electronic media and newspapers as a medium of communication between them and consumers. It is also the responsibility of the consumers to think once or twice before buying the product for themselves. It is completely left to the customer opinion, as he has the right to choose. So, to some extent, I agree with the statement given in the question. Firstly, from company’s perspective side who makes the commodity, products are advertised everywhere on roads using flexies, the internet and other electronic media. They try to entice the customer by using cine stars, actress, singers to advertise their product or by giving special offers, weekend offers etc, rather than highlighting the quality of the product. Sometimes they do not show the drawbacks of the commodity such as the material used, warranty, durability etc. Some sales websites such as Flipkart, Amazon, snapdeal, try to attract customers. Secondly, from consumers’ perspective, customers have their own habits in buying the product. Only a few customers get attention towards product and their advertisement rather seeing the quality of the product and its Brand. Most of the customers do their own survey before buying items. Suppose if the person wants to buy a mobile, he compares the performance of the gadget with other gadgets, he takes ratings into consideration, experts view and from their opinion, he will buy the gadget. In addition to that, customers take the Brand into account and don't bother about any star acting in that advertisement. In conclusion, it is neither possible to blame the customer nor the advertisement. Advertisements act as one way to communicate with customers and get their opinion. But it is also the responsibility of consumers before buying the product and think whether it is useful to them or not. If they have enough income, doesn’t mean they spend it lavishly, irrespective of that everybody has the freedom to think.