The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

It is believed by many people that steady learning, having more than one job and more than once source of income is the new trend, and maintaining single job is almost outdated. I completely agree with this idea of maintaining alternative career and the below essay will further justify my stance. To begin with, the main idea why people are choosing second source of income is to survive from the growing competition. In every sector and for every role, there is huge competition between peers and management is inclined towards those who commit fewer mistakes. Therefore, people are at high risk as a negligible error may lead to severe circumstances. To come out of this threat from others, many people these days are looking for additional jobs and extra sources of incomes. For instance, nowadays, software engineers are maintaining businesses like hotels apart from their profession to get rid of the competition. Furthermore, external forces like increased standard of living is also driving people to learn something new and to look for other opportunities. In this day and age, paying for the necessities of family members is a challenging task, as prices of all services and goods have crossed the manageable levels. As a result, people are opting multiple jobs by learning new skills and technologies. For instance, an earning hand with single job is struggling in a family is paying for parent’s medicines, children’s tuition fee in addition to general maintenance and occasional luxuries. To conclude, it can be known that it is almost impossible to sustain with single source of earnings and to integrate to the situations, people are now maintaining dual jobs to make himself and the dependents comfortable.