Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people arelosing the ability to communicate face to face.

It is true that cell phones and computers play crucial roles in our lives. Some people claim that this is the reason for declining communication skills. While I accept that modern technologies make our lives more convenient, I believe that they have some negative effects on our communication ability. On the one hand, there are several advantages of using these electronic devices. The biggest advantage is that cell phones and computers allow people to communicate with each other more quickly and conveniently. For example, thanks to the Internet, managers can utilize computers to contact their partners from other countries. As a result, they can save more time and money to do other vital work of their business. Furthermore, many mobile phones and computers now have Skype and therefore we can talk to friends and family who are far away. We can actually see them, whereas before we had to rely on expensive long-distance calls or letters which took ages to arrive. On the other hand, this trend may have some drawbacks. Firstly, although people can make many new friends via the Internet easily, they rarely meet and talk directly with each other. This will let people be under illusions about their acquaintances in the virtual world. Secondly, because of extreme focusing on cell phones or computers, people no longer want to spend time with their true friends and their families. My close friend, for instance, is so addicted to chatting and playing games on her smart phone that she ignores everyone when we gather and talk about funny stories together. In conclusion, although modern technologies bring us numerous benefits, it is true that the communication ability of people will be improved if they restrict their usage of mobile phones and computers.