Today many people work online, without face-to-face interaction. Is it a positive or negative development?

The advent of the internet has resulted in the increasing popularity of online platforms and websites for different purposes such as online telecommuting. While this tendency lead to some drawbacks, I firmly believe that it is a positive change in general. Working online can be a positive change for two reasons. First, a worker can maintain work-life balance, thereby being able to spend time around close people – family members and friends – which helps not to miss important events in their lives. Working from home can also result in good relations with their colleagues. Many companies in Azerbaijan, for example, recently reported that the number of staff conflicts reduced significantly during the COVID-19 pandemic. This was attributed to the role of virtual communication which minimized real-life contacts between employees of different teams tending to argue with each other. However, I believe that using the global network for work is mostly a negative trend. One of the main problems is poor productivity. By working at home, workers are frequently bothered by their family members and often need to engage in household activities, thereby not paying enough attention to their job responsibilities. Another problem emerging from this issue is the inability to solve job-related problems in a short period. It may be quite challenging to tackle issues via online meetings and conferences since not every worker may be available because of different reasons be it poor internet connection or deadlines for some tasks. Thus, any issue which could be easily tackled in the real life may remain unsolved for a long time, which poses problems for companies. In conclusion, despite telecommuting leading to some positive outcomes, I believe that this type of work is a negative development overall due to distraction at home and delayed solutions for important issues.